Easy Chicken Teriyaki

I am the mom of a beautiful family of four. Recently my baby just turned one and has started eating the same foods as the rest of us. Is it normal for there to be a noticeable difference in the money we spend now that my ONE year old is eating???? Granted I have been making dinner every night recently and this is something I’ve never been great at, so maybe that’s the reason for the rise in spending. 🙂

Either way, there have been some pretty big job changes in our family recently. Ones that make it super important for me to cook every night AND stay within a pretty tight food budget. Do you think I can do it? My goal is $200 a month for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). I plan to use that money for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I will try to save as much as I can by buying things that we use a lot (like chicken, ground beef, pasta, rice, etc.) when they are on sale. I also plan to buy produce from a food co-op. Enough produce for our family for the whole month is only $32!! Lastly, I plan to make some cheap-o dinners that are also easy.

On that note, this blog is born. I will post a bunch of meals that are around $5 or less for at least 4 people. I’ll post pictures, too as I start making these things. Here is recipe #1 including the cost breakdown to keep it under $5. You’ll want to add a vegetable and/or fruit to make this meal balanced, but if you’re like me, you already have a bunch of produce you can supplement the meal with from your food co-op.

Easy Teriyaki Chicken, ($5.25)
Ingredients:
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts ($3)
2 C teriyaki sauce ($1.50)
Cooked Rice ($.75)

Directions: Marinate chicken in teriyaki sauce for at least 30 min. Grill or bake chicken. Serve with cooked rice.
1 Comment

Filed under Chicken

One response to “Easy Chicken Teriyaki

  1. alyse

    Sweet! I’m so excited to follow this blog! Keep the recipes coming!

Leave a Reply

